62 Annual Awards Gala


Distinguished Alumni Awards are given to individuals whose professional accomplishments bring prestige to the university. Four people are being honored in 2016:

  • William Brookshire (‘57) is the co-founder and chairman of S & B Engineers and Constructors, Ltd., and a member of the University of Houston Engineering Hall of Distinction.
  • Billy Ray Brown (’85) is an on course reporter for the Golf Channel and commentator for CBS sports. While attending UH, he helped the golf team win 3 National Championships.
  • Alan Gershenhorn (’82) is executive vice president and chief commercial officer of United Parcel Service, Inc. He also serves on the board of directors of the UPS Foundation and Beacon Roofing Supply Inc., and as a council member of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development.
  • Pamela O’Rourke (’95) is the president & chief executive officer of Icon Information Consultants. Pamela has received numerous business awards over the years, including the U.S. Small Business Administration's 2005 "Women in Business Champion of the Year.” 

The Distinguished Service Award is given to UHAA Life Members who are set apart by a history of service to the association and university. Those being honored in 2016: 

  • Nancy and Dale (’70) Lowe - Mr. Lowe is president of Lowe Holdings, LLC and Lowe Investments, LLC. Together, Nancy and Dale support University of Houston Athletics and serve as hosts for the University of Houston Alumni Association-sponsored, New Student 
  • Dr. Demetrius Pearson (Ed.D. ’90)  Pearson is an associate professor, and formerly the associate department chair, of the Department of Health and Human Performance at the University of Houston. He is also a UH Cougars Athletic Alliance active volunteer.

The Outstanding Volunteer Award recognizes alumni and university supporters who exemplify a spirit of volunteerism to advance UHAA's mission. Those being honored in 2016: 

  • Barbara Parrott McGinity (’74, M.S.W. ’00)  was a long time volunteer and executive committee member of the Graduate College of Social Work Alumni Association. Barbara passed away February 7, 2016. She will be honored posthumously. To friends and family, please accept our most heartfelt sympathies. Our thoughts are with you during this difficult time.  

  • Margarita Barcenas (UHD '92, M.B.A.'03) is a financial advisor for Morgan Stanley Wealth Management. Barcenas is an active alumna of the Bauer College of Business, leading and participating in alumni events to raise awareness for the University.  She is also the past president of the Bauer College Alumni Association.  

Lisa Cushing (’01) has been named UHAA’s Rising Star, which honors motivated young alumni who have excelled beyond the norm early in their careers. Cushing is the owner and lead designer for Petals by Design, an award-winning floral boutique specializing in weddings and large events. She also serves on the UH Spirit of Houston Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Margarita Barcenas (UHD '92, M.B.A.'03)
Margarita Barcenas
(UHD '92, M.B.A.'03)
William Brookshire (‘57)
Dr. William Brookshire 
Billy Ray Brown (’85)
Billy Ray Brown
Lisa Cushing (’01)
Lisa Cushing
Alan Gershenhorn (’82)
Alan Gershenhorn 
Nancy and Dale ('70) Lowe
Nancy and Dale ('70) Lowe

Barbara Parrott McGinity (’74, M.S.W. ’00)
Barbara Parrott McGinity
(’74, M.S.W. ’00)
Pamela O’Rourke (’95)
Pamela O’Rourke 
Dr. Demetrius W. Pearson (Ed.D. ’90)
Dr. Demetrius W. Pearson 
(Ed.D. ’90)
The Honorable Jarvis V. Hollingsworth (J.D. ’93)
The Honorable Jarvis V. Hollingsworth
 (J.D. ’93)  Accepting his award 2017
Brent Spiner (F.S. ’71)
Brent Spiner
(F.S. ’71) Accepting his award 2017

Click here to see all past honorees.



2016 Featured Stories

To Be Announced

See the 2015 featured stories